time for you to “Get With It”: a guide to making pour over coffee at home

Pour over coffee first became a ‘trendy subject’ about a year and a half ago. Before then it was only really discussed by baristas, coffee roasters, and other active members of the specialty coffee community (myself included). Yet, even then, when we spoke about it I never thought about making it at home – I guess I just hadn’t tried enough of it to realize its potential and more than anything else, I had no idea how inexpensive and simple the entire process was.

Yes, it is very simple – and I will teach you how to make pour over coffee at home.

Get a Ceramic Dripper

Ceramic Dripper

The only purchase that you will most likely need to make is a ceramic dripper to actually brew the pour over coffee in. These are really inexpensive, I personally prefer the Hario v60 which can be purchased online for somewhere in the ballpark of fifteen dollars. It’s just a dripper, it doesn’t have any moving parts or complex mechanics so chances are you will buy one and it will last you a lifetime.

Set the ceramic dripper on top of a coffee mug. Put about twelve to eighteen grams of freshly ground coffee into a filter inside the v60 (or whichever pour over apparatus you choose) and boil water.

Once the water is heated pour it over the coffee grounds in a circular motion. I always pour counterclockwise. Does it matter?

Not at all.

Don’t Let it Overflow

The second time that I made pour over coffee with my Hario v60 I kept pouring the water so enthusiastically that I forgot to check the coffee mug and make sure that there was still room. I ended up pouring a little too much water and overflowing coffee all over my kitchen counter.

What a mess!

Learn from my mistake here, and lift the ceramic dripper every twenty or thirty seconds so that you can visually gauge exactly how much more of a pour you need. Some people actually preemptively measure the amount of water that they boil, which logically makes sense, but I don’t because I think it’s a waste of time – as long as I remember to lift the dripper and check my coffee cup.

Whichever way you choose is fine – and measuring the water beforehand is probably the best idea, I’m just letting you know that I don’t bother with it and I’ve only made a mess once.

Hopefully it stays that way.

Happy brewing!

Leave a Reply

